The United Kingdom has imposed a travel restriction on Nigerians, following an increase in the number of cases of the Omicron variant of COVID-19.

This was confirmed by the UK’s Secretary of State for Health, Sajid Javid, via his official Twitter account.

The UK becomes the third country to impose a travel ban on Nigeria.

Javid however explained that UK and Irish citizens who will be traveling from Nigeria would be allowed into the country after quarantining for a certain period.

He tweeted, “In light of the most recent data, we are taking further action to slow the incursion of the Omicron variant. From 4am on Monday, only UK/Irish citizens and residents travelling from Nigeria will be allowed entry and must isolate in a managed quarantine facility.

“And from 4am on Tuesday, anyone travelling to the UK from countries not on the Red List will be required to take a pre-departure test, regardless of their vaccination status.

“Vaccines remain our first line of defence— the best way to protect yourself and your loved ones. Please get vaccinated or #GetBoosted as soon as you can.”