The Confederation of African Football (CAF) will pay the team that wins the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations a $5 million prize money.

CAF has taken the decision to increase it from $4.5million.

The 11% raise was approved during the meeting of CAF executives in Douala, Cameroon on Friday.

The runners-up will be paid $2.75 million, a 10% increase from $2.5 million.

The prize monies for the semi-finalists and the quarter-finalists were also increased, with the total sum of the increase on all prize monies being $1.85 million.

Each of the 24 countries that qualified for the competition, will receive at least €534,000 for participation.

The new AFCON prize money structure is as follows:

  • Winners: $5million
  • Runners-up: $2.75million
  • Semi-Finalists: $2.2million
  • Quarter-Finalists: $1.175million