Senate confirms Buhari

The seven persons nominated as ministers by President Muhammadu Buhari have been confirmed by the senate.


They were confirmed on Wednesday June 29, following a screening at the upper chamber of the National Assembly. The exercise was presided over by Senate President Ahmed Lawan.


Four of the newly-confirmed ministers are from four south-east states; with one appointee each from the north-west, south-west, and south-south regions.


The new appointees who will be replacing ministers who resigned to contest in presidential primaries include Henry Ikechukwu – Abia State, Umana Okon Umana – Akwa-Ibom State, Ekuma Joseph – Ebonyi State, Goodluck Nana Obia – Imo State, Umar Ibrahim Yakub – Kano State, Ademola Adewole Adegorioye – Ondo State, and Odo Udi – Rivers State.