Buhari swears in ex-IGP Arase as PSC chairman

Former Inspector-General of Police, Dr Solomon Arase (retd.) was on Wednesday morning, March 29, sworn in as Chairman of the Police Service Commission (PSC).


The swearing in ceremony, which coincided with that of five members of the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB), took place before the weekly Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting.


The ceremonies were held in the Executive Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa, Abuja. Former IGP Arase took over as Chairman of the PSC, following the resignation of another former Inspector-General of Police, Musiliu Smith, who was reported to have been advised by the PSC Board to resign in September 2022.


Arase, 65, who retired in 2016, was the 18th indigenous Inspector-General of Police (between April 2015 and June 2016) and has served in various capacities including as head of the Criminal Intelligence and Investigation Bureau, the foremost intelligence-gathering unit of the Nigerian police.


The President also swore-in five board members of the Code of Conduct Bureau. They include Murtala Kankia from Katsina State (North-West); Zephaniah Bulus from Nasarawa State (North Central) and Farouk Umar from Yobe State (North East), Taofeek Abdulsalam from Ondo State (South West) and Prof. Juwaria Badamasi from Kogi State (North Central).